Tennis Superstars Maria Sharapova, Andy Murray, And Carlos Moya To Visit Philippines This November

Tennis Superstars Maria Sharapova, Andy Murray, And Carlos Moya To Visit Philippines This November

In just a little over two months, the Philippines will lay witness to the first ever international tennis competition featuring worldwide tennis superstars Maria Sharapova, Andy Murray, and Carlos Moya as headliners of the Manila Mavericks team. Garnering PHP 23 Million on its initial ticket sales, the International Premier Tennis League (IPTL) is expediently gaining traction as the sports event of the year.

 International Premier Tennis League 2

What do we really know about the up and coming three-day competition? Here are a few interesting facts about the International Premier Tennis League (IPTL):

International Players Represent Asian Teams

Four teams representing four countries across Asia will vie for the grand title to take home the winning prize of USD 1 Million. The four teams embody the Indian Aces, UAE Royals, Singapore Slammers and Manila Mavericks. Each team is represented by international tennis big wigs.

The Manila Mavericks

International Premier Tennis League 4

The Manila Mavericks are represented by seasoned and seeded players: 32 WTA Singles title holder and darling of the press Maria Sharapova, current holder of the Wimbledon Championship title Andy Murray, 11 ATP World Tour Singles title holder Jo-Wilfred Tsonga, tennis legend Carlos Moya, 85 Men’s Double title holder Daniel Nestor, Belgium’s 2013 Sportswoman of the Year Kirsten Flipkens, and Pinoy pride Treat Huey.

Rival Teams

International Premier Tennis League  3

Other tennis stars representing the rival teams are: Serena Williams, Nick Kyrgios, Daniela Hantuchova, Tomas Berdych, and Patrick Rafter as part of the Singapore Slammers; Ana Ivanovic, Fabrice Santoro, Gael Monfils for the Indian Aces; and Eugenie Bouchard, Richard Gasquet, Goran Ivanisevic for the UAE Royals. More rival players will be announced as the date draws closer to the match.

3 Days, 6 Matches, 30 Sets

International Premier Tennis League  1

The entire competition in the Philippines lasts for three days. Each day comprises of two matches, with five sets per match. Matches include: Men’s’ Singles, Women’s Singles, Men’s’ Doubles, Mixed Doubles, and Legends’ Singles. Each season pass entitles the holder to attend all 3 days, with 2 matches per day, making sure fans receive their money’s worth. The Philippines is the first stop of four cities in which the Manila Mavericks will continue to represent the Philippines to win the grand title of the International Premier Tennis League  (IPTL) Champions and take home the winning purse of USD 1 Million.

Match schedule is as follows:

28 November 20144:00 pmIndia vs Singapore
7:30 pmManila vs UAE
29 November 20144:00 pmUAE vs Singapore
7:30 pmManila vs India
30 November 20144:00 pmUAE vs India
7:30 pmManila vs Singapore

4 Teams. 30 Icons. New Rules. Tennis megastars are taking center stage this November 28-30, 2014 at the Mall of Asia Arena for the biggest and most unique sports competition the Philippines has ever seen.

For more information on the International Premier Tennis League (IPTL), and for ticket inquiries.

Written by Cristelle Torres
Online Content Creator/